Hounslow's New Cabinet and Mayor Announced

Nine members to make key decisions for the borough

Related Links

ChiswickW4.com and BrentfordTW8.com

Cllr Samia Chaudhary

Councillor Samia Chaudhary, ward member for Hanworth, has been elected Mayor of Hounslow for the municipal year 2018/19.

Councillor Sohan Sumra, ward member for Hounslow West is the new Deputy Mayor.

The appointments were made at the annual meeting of the council on Tuesday 22nd May.

Speaking after her election to the office of Mayor for the next 12 months, Cllr Chaudhary said: “I am truly honoured and humbled to accept this role. I will fulfil my responsibilities of mayor with the energy, enthusiasm and commitment the position demands.

“Being the Mayor of Hounslow, I want to make our vibrant and multi-cultural borough move forward with an even stronger sense of community and belonging for all of our residents, whilst tackling the challenges we face today so that children and grown-ups alike can play a role in their community and be proud to call Hounslow home.”

As Mayor of Hounslow, Cllr Chaudhary’s chosen charities for the year are ones close to her heart. The first is the CW+ Sun and Stars Appeal, the charity of Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust for the improvement of the Children’s ward at West Middlesex Hospital. They provide invaluable care for babies, children and young people in Hounslow.

The second is Mind, Ealing and Hounslow branch. The charity works to promote good mental health in our community through empowering people to lead independent lives, through raising awareness and through advocating for change.

Cllr Sumra is one of the Council’s newly elected members, and is looking forward to taking up his ceremonial role of Deputy Mayor in Hounslow, and supporting Cllr Chaudhary over the year.

As well as the election of the Mayor, the Leader and new Cabinet were also announced at the meeting.

Councillor Steve Curran, ward member for Syon, was confirmed as the Leader of Hounslow Council for the next four years, and has the portfolio covering Corporate Strategy, Planning and Regeneration.

Councillor Lily Bath, Heston West ward, was appointed Deputy Leader, and Cabinet Member for Housing and Social Inclusion.

Speaking about priorities for the next four years, Councillor Curran told the Borough Councillors, council staff and guests that his Cabinet would “champion unity and service for the people of Hounslow”.

He said: “Mine will be a leadership for change, and my Cabinet will be a leadership for delivery. Together, we will deliver what our people need and want, and serve the people of Hounslow.”

In his speech, he highlighted some of the key deliverables for this term, which include:

  • creating 400 apprenticeships and helping young people into work
  • securing 3000 social rented homes and building more council homes
  • improving the streets by fixing potholes
  • making doorstep collection and recycling easier
  • retaining older people’s care
  • keeping libraries open
  • not allowing any building on green belt land
  • not raising council tax unless absolutely necessary.

The other members of the Cabinet for 2018/19 are:

  • Councillor Shantanu Rajawat – Finance and Corporate Services
  • Councillor Pritam Grewal – Customer Services and Corporate Performance
  • Councillor Katherine Dunne – Communities and Workforce
  • Councillor Candice Atterton – Adults, Social Care and Health
  • Councillor Tom Bruce – Education, Children and Youth Services
  • Councillor Sue Sampson – Leisure Services
  • Councillor Hanif Khan – Transport and Corporate Property
  • Councillor Guy Lambert – Highways, Recycling and Companies

The full Cabinet portfolio details are available at www.hounslow.gov.uk/cabinetportfolios. Full membership and appointment details for all Committees and Boards are also available on the website.

May 25, 2018

Bookmark and Share