Dr Onkar Sahota Elected GLA Member for Ealing and Hillingdon

Labour member retains his seat with an increased majority

Related Links

Dr Onkar Sahota Candidate Statement

, ChiswickW4.com and EalingToday.co.uk

Comment on this story on the forum

Labour's Dr Onkar Sahota has retained his seat on the new London Assembly for Ealingdon and Hillingdon.

Dr Onkah Sahota

He beat the Conservative candidate, Dominic Gilham, by 15,933 votes - an increased majority from the last election in 2012 when he took the seat from Richard Barnes (Conservative) by just over 3,000 votes.

Alex Nieora, standing for UKIP, was placed in third place (15,832) with Meena Hans for The Green Party close behind with 15,758 votes.

Francesco Fruzza for the Liberal Democrats got 13,154 votes up from 2012 but still placing them in last place.

Results were declared on Friday afternoon (May 6)

The results were:

Party Candidate Votes % Change
Conservative Dominic Gilham 70155    
Labour Onkar Sahota 86088
Liberal Democrat Francesco Fruzza 13154
UKIP Alex Nieora 15832
Green Meena Hans 15758
Turnout 45


The turnout was 45%

Sadiq Khan is the city's new mayor, after beating Tory Zac Goldsmith by 1,310,143 votes to 994,614. He secured the largest majority ever for a London Mayor. The confirmation of the result was delayed due to problems with London Elect's electronic vote counting system.

Mr Khan said, "This election has not been without controversy. I am so proud that London has chosen hope over fear and unity over division. I hope we will never be offered such a stark choice again."

6th May 2016

Bookmark and Share