Tony Arbour Holds On In South West Constituency

While Sadiq Khan records a convincing victory in mayoral race

Vote counting today in Olympia. Picture: London Elects

Vote counting today in Olympia. Picture: London Elects

Related Links

Candidates Announced For London Elections

Sign up to receive free newsletters from,

Comment on this story on the forum

Sadiq Khan is the city's new mayor, after beating Tory Zac Goldsmith by 1,310,143 votes to 994,614. He secured the largest majority ever for a London Mayor. The confirmation of the result was delayed due to problems with London Elect's electronic vote counting system.

Mr Khan said, "This election has not been without controversy. I am so proud that London has chosen hope over fear and unity over division. I hope we will never be offered such a stark choice again."

Tony Arbour retained his assembly seat in the South West constituency which includes the boroughs of Hounslow and Richmond. Martin Whelton initially seemed to be launched a strong challenge with the count showing him ahead early on but in the even the Conservative incumbent won with a comfortable majority. The Liberal Democrats polled over 30,000 votes which, at the time of writing, was the highest for any London constituency.

Party Candidate Votes % Change
Conservative Tony Arbour
Labour Martin Whelton
Liberal Democrat Rosina Robson
UKIP Alan Craig
Green Andree Frieze
Socialist (GB) Adam Buick

In neighbouring Ealing and Hillingdon, Dr Onkar Sahota retained the seat for Labour.

Ealing and Hillingdon

Party Candidate Votes % Change
Conservative Dominic Gilham 70155    
Labour Onkar Sahota 86088
Liberal Democrat Francesco Fruzza 13154
UKIP Alex Nieora 15832
Green Meena Hans 15758


Vote count in Mayoral Election

Source: London Elects

May 7, 2016

Bookmark and Share